Destination guide

What does it take to move to Canada? Processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence

11 pathways verified against an official source. Start with a pathway, or open the published rules below to compare requirements.

A place to explore the rules, not an eligibility decision.

Choose a route to explore

Verified pathways

11 published records

Permanent Residence

Canada skilled migration: Express Entry — Canadian Experience Class

Permanent residence for skilled workers with eligible Canadian work experience, managed through Express Entry. IRCC publishes minimum requirements, not a selection-factor points test. Meeting those minimums is how you become eligible to submit a profile; CRS ranking decides invitations. You must plan to live outside Quebec.

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-09-24

Permanent Residence

Canada skilled migration: Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades

Permanent residence for skilled workers qualified in a listed skilled trade, managed through Express Entry. IRCC publishes minimum requirements, not a selection-factor points test. You need 2 years of qualifying trade work in the last 5 years and either a valid 1-year full-time job offer or a Canadian certificate of qualification. Meeting those minimums is how you become eligible to submit a profile; CRS ranking decides invitations. You must plan to live outside Quebec.

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-09-24

Work Permit

Canada work visa: LMIA-based Work Permit (TFWP)

Temporary employer-specific work permit. The Work in Canada hub lists "Employer-specific work permit" with "Job offer required" and does not say LMIA in that line. The ESDC hub is the employer Labour Market Impact Assessment application, split across streams. This permit is not permanent residence.

Source: Employment and Social Development Canada · verified 2026-09-24

Quebec

Canada skilled migration: Quebec — Skilled Worker Selection (PSTQ)

Quebec’s skilled-worker selection program, run separately from federal Express Entry and not a PNP. File a free déclaration d’intérêt in Arrima. An invitation may lead to a Certificat de sélection du Québec. A CSQ is not permanent residence. After a CSQ you submit a separate IRCC application; that federal stage has its own medical, security and criminality checks.

Quebec

Canada skilled migration: Quebec — Quebec Experience Program (PEQ)

A Quebec selection program for Quebec graduates and temporary foreign workers, not a points test and not Express Entry. Reception in this window is 2 July–31 October 2026. Qualifying diplomas or Quebec work must already have existed on 19 November 2025. A CSQ is not permanent residence. After a CSQ you submit a separate IRCC application; that federal stage has its own medical, security and criminality checks.

Business

Canada investor visa: Quebec — Investor Program

Programme des investisseurs. Conditions-based Quebec selection, not a points test and not Express Entry. Intake is open at any time with no published maximum. First condition: a convention d’investissement with a participating financial intermediary — you cannot invest directly. Education: DES-equivalent or a one-year full-time DEP/ASP/AEC-equivalent; Quebec diplomas need 600 hours (secondary) or 900 hours (college); an ECE is not required to apply. Net worth at least 2 000 000 $ CA with lawful origin and accumulation, including for an included spouse. Placement and contribution within 120 days of the ministry’s request. Values attestation within 60 days; accompanying spouse 16+ and dependent children 18+. Work-permit application within 6 months of the avis d’intention. Oral French niveau 7; no written floor. A CSQ is not permanent residence. After a CSQ you submit a separate IRCC application; that federal stage has its own medical, security and criminality checks.

Business

Canada entrepreneur visa: Quebec — Entrepreneur Program

Programme des entrepreneurs, three volets: Entreprise innovante, Démarrage d'entreprise, Repreneuriat. Conditions-based, not a points test and not Express Entry. Intake is open at any time with no published maximum. Education: DES-equivalent or a one-year full-time DEP/ASP/AEC-equivalent; Quebec diplomas need 600 or 900 hours; an ECE is not required to apply. Volet 1 publishes no net-worth floor and no lawful-origin condition; accompaniment is an innovation organism, not a financial intermediary. Volets 2 and 3 publish 600 000 $ CA or 300 000 $ CA plus lawful origin of funds, and 300 000 $ CA / 150 000 $ CA location-based expenses. Values attestation within 60 days; accompanying spouse 16+ and dependent children 18+. Volet 2: start the business within 2 years of the work permit. Volet 3: acquisition offer within 2 years of the application. Oral French niveau 7; no written floor. A CSQ is not permanent residence. After a CSQ you submit a separate IRCC application; that federal stage has its own medical, security and criminality checks.

Business

Canada self-employed visa: Quebec — Self-employed Worker Program

Programme des travailleurs autonomes. Conditions-based Quebec selection, not a points test and not Express Entry. Intake is open at any time with no published maximum. Education: DES-equivalent or a one-year full-time DEP/ASP/AEC-equivalent; Quebec diplomas need 600 or 900 hours; an ECE is not required to apply. Net worth at least 100 000 $ CA with lawful origin and accumulation, including for an included spouse. Start-up deposit 25 000 $ CA outside the CMM or 50 000 $ CA on the CMM, made at a Quebec financial institution when the ministry asks — a few weeks after the file-opening letter. Values attestation within 60 days; accompanying spouse 16+ and dependent children 18+. Two years of self-employed experience in the last five. Oral French niveau 7; no written floor. A CSQ is not permanent residence. After a CSQ you submit a separate IRCC application; that federal stage has its own medical, security and criminality checks.

Explore the points tables

Estimate against the official table: What would my Canada CRS ranking score be? · What score do I need for Canada's Federal Skilled Worker program? · Do I meet the Canadian Experience Class requirements? · Do I meet the Federal Skilled Trades requirements?

Go into the detail

Compare the published requirements.

How we verify

Open a topic to see the recorded values, conditions and sources. Unchecked information stays distinct from information that the source does not publish.

Processing times, fees and residence outcomes

How long do these Canada routes take, what do they cost, and do they lead to permanent residence?

What language evidence and skills assessment does Canada name?

  • Language evidence: CELPIP-G, IELTS, PTE Core, TEF Canada or TCF Canada
  • Credential assessment: Educational Credential Assessment (ECA)

Verified 2026-09-23–2026-09-24 against Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada; Employment and Social Development Canada; ministère de l’Immigration, de la Francisation et de l’Intégration.

Facts on this page come from those records — not from unsourced scores or blurbs.

Every cell is a sourced value or an explicit statement that nothing is stored. Amounts stay in the published currency.

Routes by residence outcome
Job offer requirements

Do I need a job offer for these Canada routes?

The authority states a job offer is required

A job offer is required for these routes.

The authority states a job offer is not required

The authority states a job offer is not required.

The authority states either a job offer or another qualification

The authority accepts more than one way to meet this requirement. The wording on each row is the record's own.

Not published on the page we read

We looked. Not published on the pages we read.

Education requirements

What education do these Canada routes require?

The authority publishes a minimum education level

The wording on each row is the record's own.

The authority accepts more than one education qualification

The authority accepts more than one way to meet this requirement. The wording on each row is the record's own.

The page states no education minimum

The page states no education minimum

Not published on the page we read

We looked. Not published on the pages we read.

Proof of funds
Information gaps and their sources

Not published on the pages we read

Union of the absences recorded on this destination's routes. Each row quotes the reason stored on that record.

Processing time

Funds requirement

  • Canada skilled migration: Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)

    Read 2026-09-23. The federal hub and both eligibility pages do not state a settlement-funds figure, and provincial nomination sets its own criteria. Hub: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/provincial-nominees.html Express Entry process: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/provincial-nominees/express-entry.html Non-Express Entry process: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/provincial-nominees/non-express-entry.html Express Entry eligibility: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/provincial-nominees/express-entry/eligibility.html Non-Express Entry eligibility: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/provincial-nominees/non-express-entry/eligibility.html

    Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-09-23

  • Canada work visa: LMIA-based Work Permit (TFWP)

    Read 2026-09-24. ESDC Temporary Foreign Worker Program hub (https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/services/foreign-workers.html, date modified 2026-09-16), the eligibility URL https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/permit/temporary/eligibility.html which redirected to the Work in Canada hub (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada.html, date modified 2026-06-01), the fee list (https://ircc.canada.ca/english/information/fees/fees.asp, date modified 2026-09-21), and the processing-times tool (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/check-processing-times.html, date modified 2026-09-24) do not state a settlement-funds figure. The TFWP hub sends employers to separate streams (high and low-wage, primary agriculture, Global Talent Stream, caregivers, academic, Quebec, Recognized Employer Pilot, and applications to support permanent residency). Those stream pages were not opened.

    Source: Employment and Social Development Canada · verified 2026-09-24

  • Canada investor visa: Quebec — Investor Program

    Investor conditions page (26 August 2026) publishes « un avoir net d’au moins 2 000 000 $ CA » and a « placement à terme de cinq ans d’un montant de 1 000 000 $ CA » plus « contribution financière de 200 000 $ CA ». Those are net worth and investment, not a financial-autonomy living-cost amount. The page does not mention a contrat d’autonomie financière or the barème. Regulation art. 37 has no Annexe C undertaking (unlike PSTQ art. 32.1 3°, entrepreneur art. 49.2 3°, self-employed art. 48 7°). GPI section 3.3 opened; no autonomie / barème / Annexe C text.

Minimum education

  • Canada student visa: Study Permit → PGWP

    Read 2026-09-23. The study-permit eligibility page (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/study-permit/eligibility.html) states enrolment at a designated learning institution. It does not state a separate prior-credential minimum, and it does not state a job-offer rule.

    Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-09-23

  • Canada work visa: LMIA-based Work Permit (TFWP)

    Read 2026-09-24. ESDC Temporary Foreign Worker Program hub (https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/services/foreign-workers.html, date modified 2026-09-16), the eligibility URL https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/permit/temporary/eligibility.html which redirected to the Work in Canada hub (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada.html, date modified 2026-06-01), the fee list (https://ircc.canada.ca/english/information/fees/fees.asp, date modified 2026-09-21), and the processing-times tool (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/check-processing-times.html, date modified 2026-09-24) do not state a diploma or other minimum. "Foreign academic positions" on the TFWP hub is a stream link, not a credential floor.

    Source: Employment and Social Development Canada · verified 2026-09-24

Minimum work experience

  • Canada work visa: LMIA-based Work Permit (TFWP)

    Read 2026-09-24. ESDC Temporary Foreign Worker Program hub (https://www.canada.ca/en/employment-social-development/services/foreign-workers.html, date modified 2026-09-16), the eligibility URL https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada/permit/temporary/eligibility.html which redirected to the Work in Canada hub (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/work-canada.html, date modified 2026-06-01), the fee list (https://ircc.canada.ca/english/information/fees/fees.asp, date modified 2026-09-21), and the processing-times tool (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/check-processing-times.html, date modified 2026-09-24) do not state a number of years. "Hire a skilled temporary foreign worker" is the permanent-residency stream blurb, not a years minimum.

    Source: Employment and Social Development Canada · verified 2026-09-24

  • Canada skilled migration: Quebec — Quebec Experience Program (PEQ)

    PEQ work experience differs by stream. Read 2026-09-24. The temporary-worker stream states « occuper un emploi qui répond à ces critères au moment où vous présentez votre demande et pendant au moins 24 des 36 mois qui précèdent » — 24 of the 36 months (FEER 0–3, legal, full-time ≥ 30 paid hours, and holding such a job at the time of the application). Reception on that stream: « une expérience de travail au Québec … d’au moins deux ans, en date du 19 novembre 2025 ». Gazette 88289 art. 35 3°: « au moins 2 ans dans les 3 ans précédant ». The Diplômés stream does not state any work-experience selection condition; Gazette art. 34 publishes none. No single year count is stored.

Application fee

Compare across countries: all comparisons · Why no one commits to a processing time · Permanent residence on arrival · Immigrate without a job offer · Points tests compared · Application fees by country · Proof of funds by country · Age limits by country · Language requirements by country · Student visas and permanent residence · Temporary visas compared

Not yet verified

These names appear in searches. We have not checked them against an official source, so this page states no fees, timelines, or settlement outcomes for them.

View 11 unverified routes
  • Express Entry — Category-based selection

    Unverified

    Express Entry invitations that target attributes IRCC has announced for a given round.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Quebec — Regular Skilled Worker Program (PRTQ) — replaced

    Unverified

    Closed as an open route. Le 29 novembre 2024, le Programme régulier des travailleurs qualifiés (PRTQ) a été remplacé par le Programme de sélection des travailleurs qualifiés (PSTQ). It is no longer possible to present a new permanent-selection application under the PRTQ except to add or remove a family member on an existing file. Informational record only.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Quebec — Food-processing pilot — closed

    Unverified

    Closed as an open route. Le Programme pilote d’immigration permanente des travailleurs de la transformation alimentaire (PP TA) a pris fin comme prévu le 1er janvier 2026. Il n’est plus possible de présenter une demande dans ce programme. Applications filed before that date continue to be examined. Informational record only.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Quebec — Orderlies (PAB) pilot — closed

    Unverified

    Closed as an open route. Le Programme pilote d’immigration permanente des préposés aux bénéficiaires (PP PAB) a pris fin comme prévu le 1er janvier 2026. Il n’est plus possible de présenter une demande dans ce programme. Applications filed before that date continue to be examined. Informational record only.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Quebec — AI / IT / visual-effects pilot — closed

    Unverified

    Closed as an open route. Le Programme pilote d’immigration permanente des travailleurs des secteurs de l’intelligence artificielle, des technologies de l’information et des effets visuels (PP IA/TI-EV) a pris fin comme prévu le 1er janvier 2026. Il n’est plus possible de présenter une demande dans ses deux volets. Applications filed before that date continue to be examined. Informational record only.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Global Talent Stream (GTS)

    Unverified

    A Temporary Foreign Worker Program stream for certain specialised roles. It is a work permit, not permanent residence. A job offer does not add CRS ranking points.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Post-Graduation Work Permit (PGWP)

    Unverified

    A work permit some graduates of a Canadian designated learning institution may apply for after study. It is a separate application from a study permit and is not permanent residence.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • International Experience Canada (IEC)

    Unverified

    A temporary work permit for youth from countries with an IEC agreement (Working Holiday, Young Professionals, International Co-op). Canadian Experience Class requires skilled Canadian work experience; time on a working holiday is not automatically that.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Intra-Company Transfer (ICT)

    Unverified

    A work permit for transferring within a multinational employer.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Spousal Open Work Permit

    Unverified

    An open work permit that some partners of workers or students in Canada may apply for.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Extend / maintain your Work Permit

    Unverified

    A process to apply again before a current Canadian work permit expires.

    Not yet verified against an official source