Home / Countries / Canada / Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades
← Canada: processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence
Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades: how long it takes, what it costs, and whether it leads to permanent residence
Permanent Residence
Permanent residence through Express Entry — skilled trades
Permanent residence for skilled workers qualified in a listed skilled trade, managed through Express Entry. IRCC publishes minimum requirements, not a selection-factor points test. You need 2 years of qualifying trade work in the last 5 years and either a valid 1-year full-time job offer or a Canadian certificate of qualification. Meeting those minimums is how you become eligible to submit a profile; CRS ranking decides invitations. You must plan to live outside Quebec.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
We tell you when we re-read a route you follow, in the note from that check, with the official link.
Does Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades lead to permanent residence?
- Residency
Permanent residence on grant
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
Do you need a job offer for Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades?
- Job offer
Not stated
The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no — check the official source below.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
How much does Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades cost to apply for?
- Application fee
CAD 1,590
Principal applicant under Economic immigration (including Express Entry / Federal skilled trades): CAD 990 processing + CAD 600 right of permanent residence, published as CAD 1,590 together. Spouse or partner is a further CAD 1,590 (or CAD 990 without the residence fee). Dependent child CAD 270 each. Biometrics CAD 85 per person (family maximum CAD 170) are charged separately and are not included in 1,590.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
How much money do you have to show for Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades?
- Funds
From CAD 15,263
Minimum for 1 family member, table updated July 7, 2025. Rises with family size (2: CAD 19,001; 3: CAD 23,360; each person after 7: CAD 4,112). Required for the Federal Skilled Trades Program unless you are authorized to work in Canada and have a valid job offer.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
How long does Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades take to process?
- Processing time
No duration published; the authority points to a guidance tool
Open the authority's page for this fact
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
What does Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada actually require?
Quoted from the pages named beside each rule, not paraphrased.
- Language
Approved English or French tests required. CLB 5 / NCLC 5 in speaking and listening; CLB 4 / NCLC 4 in reading and writing. These floors do not vary by TEER.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
- Work experience
2 years
At least 2 years of full-time work experience (or 3,120 hours total) in a skilled trade within the 5 years before you apply, all in the same listed NOC, obtained in a country where you were qualified to practise.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
What Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada does not publish
We checked for each of these and the page carried no figure. The absence is recorded with the reason, so this page states nothing the authority does not.
Processing time
FST program page publishes no fixed month range. The check-processing-times tool, opened 2026-08-16, says results 'are not a maximum or a guarantee' and 'Your application may take longer than the times shown here.'
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
Minimum education
Express Entry comparison page: FST education — 'Not required.' No education minimum is stored.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
How it works
- 1Meet the Federal Skilled Trades minimum requirements, including a valid 1-year job offer or a Canadian certificate of qualification — there is no selection-factor points test.
- 2CRS ranking in the pool decides who receives an Invitation to Apply.
What changed when we last checked this record
FST who-can-apply page opened 2026-08-16 (page details 2026-06-22). The former eligibility/federal-skilled-trades.html URL returned 404. Minimum requirements only — no 67-point grid. 2 years / 3,120 hours in the same listed-trade NOC within 5 years. Job offer of at least 1 year or a Canadian certificate of qualification. Education not required. Proof of funds required unless authorized to work in Canada and you have a valid job offer. Must plan to live outside Quebec.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-16
Estimate against the official table: Do I meet the Federal Skilled Trades requirements?, What would my Canada CRS ranking score be?
Other verified Canada routes
- Express Entry — Federal Skilled Worker
- Express Entry — Canadian Experience Class
- Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)
- Study Permit → PGWP
- Quebec — Skilled Worker Selection (PSTQ)
- Quebec — Quebec Experience Program (PEQ)
- Quebec — Investor Program
- Quebec — Entrepreneur Program
- Quebec — Self-employed Worker Program
This route on comparison pages
Official sources
Disclaimer: Viovena is an informational planning tool for immigration pathways and eligibility estimates. It is NOT a registered immigration agency, legal advisor, or licensed consultant. Visa decisions belong solely to government authorities — we do not guarantee approvals. All match scores and timelines are estimates for planning purposes only. Always verify requirements, fees, and processing times on official government websites before applying.