Home / Countries / Canada / Study Permit → PGWP
← Canada Immigration: Requirements and Costs
Understand this pathway
Canada student visa: how long the Study Permit → PGWP takes, what it costs, and whether it leads to permanent residence
Study permit
Temporary study permit to study at a designated learning institution. A post-graduation work permit is a separate later application, not automatic, and is not permanent residence.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15
Does Study Permit → PGWP lead to permanent residence?
- Residency
Temporary — not a permanent-residence route on its own
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15
Do you need a job offer for Study Permit → PGWP?
- Job offer
Not published on the page we read
Read 2026-09-23. The study-permit eligibility page (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/study-permit/eligibility.html) states enrolment at a designated learning institution. It does not state a separate prior-credential minimum, and it does not state a job-offer rule. A condition on the permit about whether you may work, and later post-graduation work permit rules, are not a job-offer rule for this permit.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-09-23
What education does Study Permit → PGWP require?
- Education
Not published on the page we read
Read 2026-09-23. The study-permit eligibility page (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/study-permit/eligibility.html) states enrolment at a designated learning institution. It does not state a separate prior-credential minimum, and it does not state a job-offer rule.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-09-23
How much money do you have to show for Study Permit → PGWP?
- Funds
From CAD 22,895
Living expenses for 1 person for the first year if you apply on or after September 1, 2025, all provinces and territories except Quebec. Tuition and transportation are extra. Rises with family size (2: CAD 28,502; 3: CAD 35,040). Quebec uses amounts set by the Ministère de l’Immigration, de la Francisation et de l’Intégration, not this table.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15
How much does Study Permit → PGWP cost to apply for?
- Application fee
CAD 150
Study permit (including extensions) CAD 150 per person. Restore student status is a different charge (CAD 396.25, which already includes a new study permit). Biometrics CAD 85 per person (family maximum CAD 170) are charged separately and are not included in 150.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15
How long does Study Permit → PGWP take to process?
- Processing time
No commitment to a processing time
Open the authority's page for this fact
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15
We tell you when we re-read a route you follow, in the note from that check, with the official link.
Not published on the pages we read
We checked for each of these and the page carried no figure. The absence is recorded with the reason, so this page states nothing the authority does not.
Processing time
IRCC publishes no fixed month range. The check-processing-times tool includes 'Study permit (from outside Canada)' and says results 'are not a maximum or a guarantee.'
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15
Minimum education
Read 2026-09-23. The study-permit eligibility page (https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/study-canada/study-permit/eligibility.html) states enrolment at a designated learning institution. It does not state a separate prior-credential minimum, and it does not state a job-offer rule.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-09-23
What changed when we last checked this record
Study permit is open and temporary. PGWP is a separate work permit with its own eligibility; graduating from a DLI does not automatically make you eligible. Previous stored age 17, USD fee, 2–4 month processing, and 30-month PR pathway were unsourced or contradicted and have been removed.
Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15
Other verified Canada routes
- Express Entry — Federal Skilled Worker
- Express Entry — Canadian Experience Class
- Express Entry — Federal Skilled Trades
- Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)
- LMIA-based Work Permit (TFWP)
- Quebec — Skilled Worker Selection (PSTQ)
- Quebec — Quebec Experience Program (PEQ)
- Quebec — Investor Program
- Quebec — Entrepreneur Program
- Quebec — Self-employed Worker Program
Other study routes: New Zealand student visa: Fee Paying Student Visa · Australia student visa (subclass 500) · Germany student visa: Student residence permit · UK student visa · Netherlands student visa: Student residence permit for university or higher professional education · Portugal student visa: study, exchange, internship or volunteering · Sweden student visa: Residence permit for studies at higher education · UAE student visa: Residence permit for study
Where to go next
- Compare this pathway with another — the link stores only pathway ids.
- Compare one published rule across destinations
- Start a free assessment — No account needed. If you are not signed in, your answers stay in this browser and the estimate runs on your device. We do not receive them unless you create an account. Privacy.
This route on comparison pages
Official sources
Disclaimer: Viovena is an informational planning tool for immigration pathways and eligibility estimates. It is NOT a registered immigration agency, legal advisor, or licensed consultant. Visa decisions belong solely to government authorities — we do not guarantee approvals. All profile-fit scores and timelines are estimates for planning purposes only. Always verify requirements, fees, and processing times on official government websites before applying.