Home / Countries / Germany

What does it take to move to Germany? Processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence

3 pathways verified against an official source. Facts on this page come from those records β€” not from unsourced scores or blurbs.

Verified 2026-08-15 against Federal Government (Make it in Germany).

What language evidence and skills assessment does Germany name?

  • Language evidence: CEFR certificate from an ALTE-certified or otherwise recognised provider (Goethe-Institut for German; IELTS or TOEFL are named for English on the Opportunity Card)
  • Credential assessment: anabin result, ZAB Statement of Comparability, or recognition notice (Anerkennung)

How long do these Germany routes take, what do they cost, and do they lead to permanent residence?

Every cell is a sourced value or an explicit statement that nothing is stored. Amounts stay in the published currency.

Which Germany routes lead to permanent residence later?

Which Germany routes do not lead to permanent residence on their own?

Do I need a job offer for these Germany routes?

The authority says a job offer is required

The authority does not state whether a job offer is required

The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no β€” check the official source below.

What these authorities do not publish

Union of the absences recorded on this destination's routes. Each row quotes the reason stored on that record.

Processing time

  • Student residence permit

    Federal Foreign Office: 'Applications for visas entitling the holder to a longer stay may take several months to process, depending on the purpose of the stay.' German national-visa page: if the foreigners authority must consent, 'kann das Verfahren bis zu drei Monaten, gelegentlich auch lΓ€nger, dauern'. Times vary by mission. No fixed month range is stored.

    Source: Federal Foreign Office Β· verified 2026-08-15

  • Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte)

    Same national-visa rule as other long-stay visas: may take several months; if foreigners-authority consent is needed, 'bis zu drei Monaten, gelegentlich auch lΓ€nger'. Varies by mission. No fixed month range is stored.

    Source: Federal Foreign Office Β· verified 2026-08-15

  • EU Blue Card

    National visas 'may take several months'. Employment visas often do not need foreigners-authority consent, which the German page says can speed the process. No fixed month range is stored.

    Source: Federal Foreign Office Β· verified 2026-08-15

Minimum education

  • Student residence permit

    Page requires admission to a state-recognised higher education institution, not a prior bachelor's degree. Seeking a place uses a school-leaving certificate that entitles you to study in Germany. Previous stored value 'bachelor' contradicted that and has been removed.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte)

    Option 1 accepts a fully recognised vocational or academic qualification, including a German non-academic vocational qualification. Option 2 requires a state-recognised vocational or academic qualification (vocational training at least two years), not specifically a bachelor's degree. Previous stored value 'bachelor' was too narrow and has been removed.

    Not yet verified against an official source

Minimum language level

  • Student residence permit

    Official wording is 'usually level B2' when the programme requires it, not the app enum 'intermediate'. The enum has been removed; see languageRequirement.

    Not yet verified against an official source

Compare across countries: all comparisons Β· How long these routes take Β· Which routes grant permanent residence on grant Β· Which routes lead to permanent residence later Β· Do I need a job offer

Verified pathways

Student residence permit

Study permit

National visa then a residence permit under Section 16b of the Residence Act to study at a state-recognised German higher education institution. After the degree you may apply for an 18-month job-seeker permit, which is not settlement.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) Β· verified 2026-08-15

EU Blue Card

Work Permit

Section 18g residence title for academics and comparable qualifications with a job offer of at least six months. 2026 salary floor is EUR 50,700, or EUR 45,934.20 in shortage occupations and for recent graduates. Settlement permit after 21 months with German B1, or 27 months with A1.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) Β· verified 2026-08-15

Not yet verified

These names appear in searches. We have not checked them against an official source, so this page states no fees, timelines, or settlement outcomes for them.

  • Germany β€” Skilled Worker Residence Permit

    Unverified

    A German residence title for skilled employment with recognised vocational training or a degree.

    Not yet verified against an official source