Destination guide

What does it take to move to United Kingdom? Processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence

3 pathways verified against an official source. Start with a pathway, or open the published rules below to compare requirements.

A place to explore the rules, not an eligibility decision.

This visa is commonly searched as Tier 2 (General). The authority states that it has replaced Tier 2 (General).

Choose a route to explore

Verified pathways

3 published records

Work Permit

UK work visa: Skilled Worker Visa

Work visa for an eligible job with a Home Office approved sponsor. You must have a job offer. The overview does not print a salary figure; it says the minimum depends on the job and the certificate of sponsorship date. The job page says the minimum is whichever is higher of Β£41,700 a year or the going rate, and that it may be lower when extending, updating, or switching to a prison officer. After 5 years you may be able to apply for indefinite leave to remain.

Source: UK Visas and Immigration Β· verified 2026-09-24

Explore the points tables

Estimate against the official table: Do I meet the UK Skilled Worker salary and job-offer rules?

Go into the detail

Compare the published requirements.

How we verify

Open a topic to see the recorded values, conditions and sources. Unchecked information stays distinct from information that the source does not publish.

Processing times, fees and residence outcomes

How long do these United Kingdom routes take, what do they cost, and do they lead to permanent residence?

  • UK student visa

    United Kingdom

    Residency
    Temporary β€” not a permanent-residence route on its own
    Job offer
    Not published on the page we read
    Education
    The page states no education minimum
    Points
    No threshold published
    Application fee
    GBP 558
    Funds
    From GBP 1,171
    Processing time
    No commitment to a processing time

    Source: UK Visas and Immigration Β· verified 2026-09-24

  • UK work visa: Skilled Worker Visa

    United Kingdom

    Residency
    Temporary on grant; permanent residence is a later application after 60 months
    Job offer
    Required
    Education
    The page states no education minimum
    Points
    At least 50
    Application fee
    From GBP 819
    Funds
    From GBP 1,270
    Processing time
    No commitment to a processing time

    Source: UK Visas and Immigration Β· verified 2026-09-24

  • UK visa without a job offer: High Potential Individual Visa

    United Kingdom

    Residency
    Temporary β€” not a permanent-residence route on its own
    Job offer
    Not required
    Education
    Qualification must be at the same level as a UK bachelor’s degree, a UK postgraduate degree, or a UK PhD or doctorate, awarded in the last 5 years by an eligible overseas university. UK universities are not eligible.
    Points
    No threshold published
    Application fee
    GBP 880
    Funds
    From GBP 1,270
    Processing time
    No commitment to a processing time

    Source: UK Visas and Immigration Β· verified 2026-09-24

What language evidence and skills assessment does United Kingdom name?

  • Language evidence: Secure English Language Test (SELT) from an approved provider
  • Credential assessment: Ecctis assessment if your qualification is from outside the UK

Verified 2026-09-24 against UK Visas and Immigration.

Facts on this page come from those records β€” not from unsourced scores or blurbs.

Every cell is a sourced value or an explicit statement that nothing is stored. Amounts stay in the published currency.

Routes by residence outcome

Which United Kingdom routes lead to permanent residence later?

Which United Kingdom routes do not lead to permanent residence on their own?

Job offer requirements

Do I need a job offer for these United Kingdom routes?

The authority states a job offer is required

A job offer is required for these routes.

The authority states a job offer is not required

The authority states a job offer is not required.

Not published on the page we read

We looked. Not published on the pages we read.

Education requirements

What education do these United Kingdom routes require?

The authority accepts more than one education qualification

The authority accepts more than one way to meet this requirement. The wording on each row is the record's own.

The page states no education minimum

The page states no education minimum

Proof of funds

What funds do these United Kingdom routes require?

The authority publishes a funds figure

These records store a funds amount with its basis and the authority's own note.

Information gaps and their sources

Not published on the pages we read

Union of the absences recorded on this destination's routes. Each row quotes the reason stored on that record.

Processing time

  • UK student visa

    Outside-the-UK processing table opened 2026-09-24: the Student row is '3 weeks'. That page does not state an inside-the-UK time. The previous '8 weeks' inside-the-UK figure is not on this page and has been removed from this note. UKVI publishes weeks, not months. No month range is stored.

    Source: UK Visas and Immigration Β· verified 2026-09-24

  • UK work visa: Skilled Worker Visa

    Outside-the-UK processing table opened 2026-09-24: the Skilled Worker row is '3 weeks'. That page does not state an inside-the-UK time. The previous '8 weeks' inside-the-UK figure is not on this page and has been removed from this note. UKVI publishes weeks, not months. No month range is stored.

    Source: UK Visas and Immigration Β· verified 2026-09-24

  • UK visa without a job offer: High Potential Individual Visa

    Outside-the-UK processing table opened 2026-09-24: the High Potential Individual (HPI) row is '3 weeks'. That page does not state an inside-the-UK time. The previous '8 weeks' inside-the-UK figure is not on this page and has been removed from this note. UKVI publishes weeks, not months. No month range is stored.

    Source: UK Visas and Immigration Β· verified 2026-09-24

Minimum language level

  • UK student visa

    Official requirement is CEFR B2 or B1 by course level, not the app enum 'intermediate'. The enum has been removed; see languageRequirement.

    Not yet verified against an official source

Compare across countries: all comparisons Β· Why no one commits to a processing time Β· Years to permanent residence Β· Immigrate without a job offer Β· Points tests compared Β· Application fees by country Β· Proof of funds by country Β· Work visa salary minimums Β· Age limits by country Β· Language requirements by country Β· Student visas and permanent residence Β· Temporary visas compared

Not yet verified

These names appear in searches. We have not checked them against an official source, so this page states no fees, timelines, or settlement outcomes for them.

View 1 unverified route
  • United Kingdom β€” Global Talent visa

    Unverified

    A UK work visa for people endorsed in academia, arts, or digital technology. It does not require a job offer.

    Not yet verified against an official source