Home / Countries / Canada / Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)

Canada: processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence

Provincial Nominee Program (PNP): how long it takes, what it costs, and whether it leads to permanent residence

Provincial

Provincial or territorial nomination

Provinces and territories nominate people who meet their own streams. An Express Entry-aligned nomination adds 600 CRS points. Quebec and Nunavut do not have a PNP.

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15

We tell you when we re-read a route you follow, in the note from that check, with the official link.

Does Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) lead to permanent residence?

Residency

Permanent residence on grant

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15

Do you need a job offer for Provincial Nominee Program (PNP)?

Job offer

Not stated

The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no — check the official source below.

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15

How much does Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) cost to apply for?

Application fee

CAD 1,590

Federal Economic immigration fee for a Provincial nominee principal applicant: CAD 990 processing + CAD 600 right of permanent residence, published as CAD 1,590 together. Spouse or partner is a further CAD 1,590 (or CAD 990 without the residence fee). Dependent child CAD 270 each. Biometrics CAD 85 per person (family maximum CAD 170) are charged separately. Provinces and territories also charge their own nomination fees; those amounts are not on the IRCC fee list and are not stored here.

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15

How long does Provincial Nominee Program (PNP) take to process?

Processing time

No duration published; the authority points to a guidance tool

Open the authority's page for this fact

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15

What Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada does not publish

We checked for each of these and the page carried no figure. The absence is recorded with the reason, so this page states nothing the authority does not.

  • Processing time

    The PNP page embeds the live processing-times tool (it failed to load when read) and says processing times may increase. The tool itself states times 'are not a maximum or a guarantee.' No fixed month range is published.

    Page we read

    Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15

  • Minimum education

    Federal page: 'Each province and territory has its own requirements.' No Canada-wide diploma (or other) education minimum is published. Previous stored value 'diploma' was unsourced and has been removed.

    Page we read

    Not yet verified against an official source

How it works

  1. 1Apply to a province or territory stream that matches you.
  2. 2If nominated through Express Entry, the nomination adds 600 CRS points.

What changed when we last checked this record

PNP is a federal framework over many provincial streams, not a single program. Each province and territory sets its own requirements. Two federal application routes: Express Entry and non-Express Entry. Permanent residence is granted by IRCC after nomination, not as a later transition from a provisional visa. Previous stored age range, diploma minimum, USD fee, month range, and 14-month PR pathway were unsourced or contradicted and have been removed.

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada · verified 2026-08-15

Other verified Canada routes

This route on comparison pages

All comparisons

Official sources

Disclaimer: Viovena is an informational planning tool for immigration pathways and eligibility estimates. It is NOT a registered immigration agency, legal advisor, or licensed consultant. Visa decisions belong solely to government authorities — we do not guarantee approvals. All match scores and timelines are estimates for planning purposes only. Always verify requirements, fees, and processing times on official government websites before applying.