Home / Countries / Sweden

What does it take to move to Sweden? Processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence

3 pathways verified against an official source. Facts on this page come from those records — not from unsourced scores or blurbs.

Verified 2026-08-15 against Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket).

What language evidence and skills assessment does Sweden name?

  • Language evidence: Work-permit pages opened for this file do not publish a language test. Self-employment: relevant knowledge of Swedish or English; very good Swedish if the business has many Swedish suppliers or customers. Study pages do not publish a language-test requirement.
  • Credential assessment: Study: finally admitted to full-time studies (30 credits per semester at a university or university college). Work: no credential-assessment body is named on the opened Migration Agency pages.

How long do these Sweden routes take, what do they cost, and do they lead to permanent residence?

Every cell is a sourced value or an explicit statement that nothing is stored. Amounts stay in the published currency.

Which Sweden routes lead to permanent residence later?

Which Sweden routes do not lead to permanent residence on their own?

Do I need a job offer for these Sweden routes?

The authority says a job offer is required

The authority does not state whether a job offer is required

The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no — check the official source below.

What these authorities do not publish

Union of the absences recorded on this destination's routes. Each row quotes the reason stored on that record.

Processing time

  • Work permit (employee)

    Page: “It is not possible to say exactly how long you will need to wait for a decision.” Statistics for cases decided in the last 12 months: highly qualified complete 75 percent within 1 month, incomplete 2 months; other employments complete 75 percent within 4 months, incomplete 10 months. That is history, not a promised range. Old 1–4 month range deleted.

    Source: Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket) · verified 2026-08-15

  • Residence permit for studies at higher education

    English page: statistics for cases decided in the last 12 months, “75% of recently decided cases have been decided within: 2 months.” Swedish: “75% av nyligen avgjorda ärenden har avgjorts inom: 2 månader.” That is a statistic, not a promised range. Old 1–3 month range deleted.

    Source: Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket) · verified 2026-08-15

  • Residence permit to run your own business

    Page: “It is not possible to say exactly how long you will need to wait.” Statistics for cases decided in the last 12 months: complete 75 percent within 8 months; incomplete 75 percent within 13 months. That is history, not a promised range. Old 3–9 month range deleted.

    Source: Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket) · verified 2026-08-15

Minimum education

  • Residence permit for studies at higher education

    The page requires final admission to full-time first- or second-cycle studies, not a prior bachelor’s degree. First-cycle programmes are bachelor’s programmes you are applying to study. Old stored value bachelor contradicted that and has been removed from the program fields.

    Not yet verified against an official source

Minimum language level

Compare across countries: all comparisons · How long these routes take · Which routes grant permanent residence on grant · Which routes lead to permanent residence later · Do I need a job offer

Verified pathways

Work permit (employee)

Work Permit

Residence and work permit for employment with a named Swedish employer. Tied to that employer, occupation and company identity number: a new job, a change of profession or a new company number needs a new application. From 1 June 2026 the monthly salary must be at least 90 percent of the SCB median salary that applied when the application was submitted (SEK 34,470 from 16 June 2026, based on median SEK 38,300) and must also be on par with Swedish collective agreements or common practice in the profession or industry, which may require more than the statutory floor. Exempt occupations use 75 percent of the median (SEK 28,725 from 16 June 2026). The employer must have taken out health, life, industrial-injuries and occupational-pension insurance; employment of at most one year also needs comprehensive health insurance. First grant is at most two years, never longer than the contract or the passport. Permanent residence is a later application after four of the past seven years on a work permit, plus sustainable after-tax income above housing costs (SEK 6,243 a month left for a single adult in 2026) and a well-behaved life. Time alone is not enough.

Source: Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket) · verified 2026-08-15

Residence permit for studies at higher education

Study permit

Temporary residence permit for full-time first- or second-cycle studies (or exchange / higher vocational / post-secondary folk high school). Must be finally admitted; distance learning does not qualify. Maintenance for applications in 2026 is at least SEK 10,656 a month (18 percent of the 2026 prisbasbelopp of SEK 59,200). Studies of at least one year: register in the population register for health care. Studies of less than one year: comprehensive health insurance. Permits granted on or after 11 June 2026 for bachelor’s or master’s level allow at most 15 hours’ work a week. This route is not on the Agency’s permanent-residence listing (that listing names work, self-employment, family ties and doctoral students). A later permit to look for work after completed studies is a separate temporary permission.

Source: Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket) · verified 2026-08-15

Residence permit to run your own business

Business

Residence permit to run a business you own at least 51 percent of, with decisive responsibility. Requires industry and self-employment experience, relevant Swedish or English (very good Swedish if many Swedish customers or suppliers), a credible budget, customer contacts or networks, and own money to run or buy the business (loans are not normally accepted). Maintenance: at least SEK 200,000 in a bank account in your name for two years, plus SEK 100,000 for an accompanying spouse and SEK 50,000 per accompanying child. First grant at most two years, never longer than the passport. Permanent residence may be applied for after at least two years running the business, if you can support yourself through the business and live a well-behaved life. Time alone is not enough.

Source: Swedish Migration Agency (Migrationsverket) · verified 2026-08-15

Not yet verified

These names appear in searches. We have not checked them against an official source, so this page states no fees, timelines, or settlement outcomes for them.

  • Sweden — EU Blue Card

    Unverified

    An EU Blue Card for highly qualified employment in Sweden.

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Sweden — Residence permit to seek work (degree holders)

    Unverified

    A time-limited Swedish residence permit to look for work after completed studies or research. It is a separate temporary permission, not permanent residence.

    Not yet verified against an official source