Home / Countries / Germany / Student residence permit
← Germany: processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence
Student residence permit: how long it takes, what it costs, and whether it leads to permanent residence
Study permit
National visa then a residence permit under Section 16b of the Residence Act to study at a state-recognised German higher education institution. After the degree you may apply for an 18-month job-seeker permit, which is not settlement.
Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15
We tell you when we re-read a route you follow, in the note from that check, with the official link.
Does Student residence permit lead to permanent residence?
- Residency
Temporary — not a permanent-residence route on its own
Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15
Do you need a job offer for Student residence permit?
- Job offer
Not stated
The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no — check the official source below.
Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15
How much does Student residence permit cost to apply for?
- Application fee
EUR 75
National visa (category D) processing fee is EUR 75, published by the Federal Foreign Office and AufenthV § 46. Minors pay EUR 37.50. Public-scholarship holders may be waived. After arrival, issuing a residence permit is a separate charge: AufenthV § 45 sets EUR 100 for an Aufenthaltserlaubnis. Do not treat 75 as the total of visa plus permit.
Source: Federal Foreign Office · verified 2026-08-15
How much money do you have to show for Student residence permit?
- Funds
From EUR 11,904
Blocked bank account of at least EUR 11,904 in 2026, or a scholarship or declaration of commitment. A visa for seeking a place in higher education uses EUR 1,091 per month (as of 2026) instead.
Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15
How long does Student residence permit take to process?
- Processing time
No duration published; the authority points to a guidance tool
Open the authority's page for this fact
Source: Federal Foreign Office · verified 2026-08-15
What does Federal Government (Make it in Germany) actually require?
Quoted from the pages named beside each rule, not paraphrased.
- Language
Some programmes require a certain level of language proficiency, usually CEFR B2. You must prove your language skills to the German embassy or consulate when the programme requires it.
Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15
What Federal Government (Make it in Germany) does not publish
We checked for each of these and the page carried no figure. The absence is recorded with the reason, so this page states nothing the authority does not.
Processing time
Federal Foreign Office: 'Applications for visas entitling the holder to a longer stay may take several months to process, depending on the purpose of the stay.' German national-visa page: if the foreigners authority must consent, 'kann das Verfahren bis zu drei Monaten, gelegentlich auch länger, dauern'. Times vary by mission. No fixed month range is stored.
Source: Federal Foreign Office · verified 2026-08-15
Minimum education
Page requires admission to a state-recognised higher education institution, not a prior bachelor's degree. Seeking a place uses a school-leaving certificate that entitles you to study in Germany. Previous stored value 'bachelor' contradicted that and has been removed.
Not yet verified against an official source
Minimum language level
Official wording is 'usually level B2' when the programme requires it, not the app enum 'intermediate'. The enum has been removed; see languageRequirement.
Not yet verified against an official source
What changed when we last checked this record
Route is open. Entry is usually a national visa from a German mission; the residence permit under Section 16b AufenthG is issued later by the local foreigners authority. Previous stored age 17, bachelor minimum, USD 12,000 funds, USD 100 fee, 1–3 month processing, intermediate language enum, and 24-month PR pathway were unsourced or contradicted and have been removed.
Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15
Other verified Germany routes
This route on comparison pages
Official sources
Disclaimer: Viovena is an informational planning tool for immigration pathways and eligibility estimates. It is NOT a registered immigration agency, legal advisor, or licensed consultant. Visa decisions belong solely to government authorities — we do not guarantee approvals. All match scores and timelines are estimates for planning purposes only. Always verify requirements, fees, and processing times on official government websites before applying.