Home / Countries / Germany / Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte)

Germany: processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence

Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte): how long it takes, what it costs, and whether it leads to permanent residence

Work Permit

Job-search residence for up to 12 months

Section 20a job-search residence title for up to 12 months. Either a qualification recognised in Germany, or a formal qualification plus at least 6 points. Not settlement; after a qualified job you switch to another title.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

We tell you when we re-read a route you follow, in the note from that check, with the official link.

Does Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte) lead to permanent residence?

Residency

Temporary — not a permanent-residence route on its own

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

Do you need a job offer for Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte)?

Job offer

Not stated

The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no — check the official source below.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

How many points do you need for Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte)?

Points

At least 6

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

How much does Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte) cost to apply for?

Application fee

EUR 75

National visa fee EUR 75 (Federal Foreign Office / AufenthV § 46). After arrival, issuing a residence permit is a separate AufenthV § 45 charge of EUR 100. Do not treat 75 as the total of visa plus permit.

Source: Federal Foreign Office · verified 2026-08-15

How much money do you have to show for Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte)?

Funds

From EUR 1,091

Blocked account with a minimum of EUR 1,091 net per month, amount applicable in 2026, or a declaration of commitment. A part-time job of at least EUR 1,091 net per month can also meet the requirement.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

How long does Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte) take to process?

Processing time

No duration published; the authority points to a guidance tool

Open the authority's page for this fact

Source: Federal Foreign Office · verified 2026-08-15

What does Federal Government (Make it in Germany) actually require?

Quoted from the pages named beside each rule, not paraphrased.

Age

Age awards points at the time of the visa application: two points if you are no older than 35 (until the day you turn 35), one point if you are aged between 35 and 40. Age is not published as a hard eligibility cut-off.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

Language

Points-system applicants must show German at least CEFR A1 or English at least CEFR B2. Recognised skilled workers (Option 1) do not have to prove language skills. Extra points for German above A1 and for English at C1 or native-speaker level.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

Points test

If you do not have a German or fully recognised foreign qualification, you must score a total of at least 6 points in the points system, and you must still show a formal qualification and the required language skills. Option 1 (recognised skilled worker) does not use the points system.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

What Federal Government (Make it in Germany) does not publish

We checked for each of these and the page carried no figure. The absence is recorded with the reason, so this page states nothing the authority does not.

  • Processing time

    Same national-visa rule as other long-stay visas: may take several months; if foreigners-authority consent is needed, 'bis zu drei Monaten, gelegentlich auch länger'. Varies by mission. No fixed month range is stored.

    Page we read

    Source: Federal Foreign Office · verified 2026-08-15

  • Minimum education

    Option 1 accepts a fully recognised vocational or academic qualification, including a German non-academic vocational qualification. Option 2 requires a state-recognised vocational or academic qualification (vocational training at least two years), not specifically a bachelor's degree. Previous stored value 'bachelor' was too narrow and has been removed.

    Page we read

    Not yet verified against an official source

How it works

  1. 1Qualify either with a fully recognised qualification, or with a formal qualification and at least 6 points.
  2. 2This title is for job search. After a qualified job you switch to another residence title.

What changed when we last checked this record

Route is open under Section 20a AufenthG. Issued first as a search opportunity card for a maximum of 12 months. Previous stored age 18–50 hard cap, bachelor-only minimum, USD 800 fee, 2–4 month processing, and 33-month PR pathway were unsourced or contradicted and have been removed.

Source: Federal Government (Make it in Germany) · verified 2026-08-15

Estimate against the official table: What score do I need for the Opportunity Card (Chancenkarte)?

Other verified Germany routes

This route on comparison pages

All comparisons

Official sources

Disclaimer: Viovena is an informational planning tool for immigration pathways and eligibility estimates. It is NOT a registered immigration agency, legal advisor, or licensed consultant. Visa decisions belong solely to government authorities — we do not guarantee approvals. All match scores and timelines are estimates for planning purposes only. Always verify requirements, fees, and processing times on official government websites before applying.