Home / Countries / United Kingdom / Student Visa
← United Kingdom: processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence
Student Visa: how long it takes, what it costs, and whether it leads to permanent residence
Study permit
Temporary visa to study with a licensed student sponsor if you are 16 or over. A later Graduate visa is a separate temporary permission, not settlement.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
We tell you when we re-read a route you follow, in the note from that check, with the official link.
Does Student Visa lead to permanent residence?
- Residency
Temporary — not a permanent-residence route on its own
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
Do you need a job offer for Student Visa?
- Job offer
Not stated
The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no — check the official source below.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
How much does Student Visa cost to apply for?
- Application fee
GBP 558
Student visa application is £558 from outside or inside the UK. The immigration health surcharge is a separate charge: £776 per year for students and their dependants. Do not treat 558 as the total cost of the application.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
How much money do you have to show for Student Visa?
- Funds
From GBP 1,171
Living-cost floor published as £1,171 per month (up to 9 months) outside London, or £1,529 per month (up to 9 months) in London. Course fees for 1 academic year are extra and appear on the CAS. Not required if you have already been in the UK with a valid visa for at least 12 months, or if you are a student union sabbatical officer. Some nationalities are under the differential evidence requirement and may be asked later.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
How long does Student Visa take to process?
- Processing time
No duration published; the authority points to a guidance tool
Open the authority's page for this fact
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
What does UK Visas and Immigration actually require?
Quoted from the pages named beside each rule, not paraphrased.
- Age
You can apply for a Student visa to study in the UK if you’re 16 or over. If you’re 16 or 17 and you want to study at an independent school, you may be eligible for a Child Student visa instead.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
- Language
You’ll usually need to prove English. Degree level or above: equivalent to CEFR B2. Below degree level: CEFR B1. A Higher Education Provider may assess degree-level English itself, still equivalent to B2. Exemptions apply for certain nationals and prior proofs.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
What UK Visas and Immigration does not publish
We checked for each of these and the page carried no figure. The absence is recorded with the reason, so this page states nothing the authority does not.
Processing time
UKVI publishes weeks, not months. Outside the UK the Student row is '3 weeks'. Inside the UK the Student row is '8 weeks'. Overview pages say you will 'usually' get a decision in those times and that you may wait longer. No month range is stored.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
Minimum education
Page requires an offer from a licensed student sponsor, not a named prior education level. Previous stored value 'high_school' was unsourced and has been removed.
Not yet verified against an official source
Minimum language level
Official requirement is CEFR B2 or B1 by course level, not the app enum 'intermediate'. The enum has been removed; see languageRequirement.
Not yet verified against an official source
What changed when we last checked this record
Visa is open and has replaced Tier 4 (General). Temporary only. Graduate visa is a separate later application (2 years if applied on or before 31 December 2026; 18 months from 1 January 2027; 3 years after a PhD). Previous stored high-school minimum, USD 15,000 funds, USD 500 fee, 1–2 month processing, intermediate language enum, and 24-month PR pathway were unsourced or contradicted and have been removed.
Source: UK Visas and Immigration · verified 2026-08-15
Other verified United Kingdom routes
This route on comparison pages
Official sources
Disclaimer: Viovena is an informational planning tool for immigration pathways and eligibility estimates. It is NOT a registered immigration agency, legal advisor, or licensed consultant. Visa decisions belong solely to government authorities — we do not guarantee approvals. All match scores and timelines are estimates for planning purposes only. Always verify requirements, fees, and processing times on official government websites before applying.