Home / Countries / Australia / Student Visa (subclass 500)

Australia: processing, cost, job offer and permanent residence

Student Visa (subclass 500): how long it takes, what it costs, and whether it leads to permanent residence

Study permit

Full-time study with pathways to temporary graduate work and skilled visas.

Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

We tell you when we re-read a route you follow, in the note from that check, with the official link.

Does Student Visa (subclass 500) lead to permanent residence?

Residency

Temporary — not a permanent-residence route on its own

Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

Do you need a job offer for Student Visa (subclass 500)?

Job offer

Not stated

The verified record does not state whether a job offer is required. Absence of the field is not a no — check the official source below.

Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

How much does Student Visa (subclass 500) cost to apply for?

Application fee

No amount stored

Not yet verified against an official source

How much money do you have to show for Student Visa (subclass 500)?

Funds

From AUD 29,710

12-month living costs for the student. Add 12 months of course fees, AUD10,394 for a partner, AUD4,449 per child, and at least AUD13,502 per year per school-age child. Alternatively evidence parent or partner income of at least AUD87,856 (AUD102,500 with family).

Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

How long does Student Visa (subclass 500) take to process?

Processing time

No duration published; the authority points to a guidance tool

Open the authority's page for this fact

Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

What does Department of Home Affairs actually require?

Quoted from the pages named beside each rule, not paraphrased.

Language

Evidence of English language skills may be required at the time of application. Minimum overall band scores are set per test provider and course type, with separate tables for tests taken on or before 6 August 2025 and on or after 7 August 2025.

Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

What Department of Home Affairs does not publish

We checked for each of these and the page carried no figure. The absence is recorded with the reason, so this page states nothing the authority does not.

  • Processing time

    Department publishes no figure. Page directs to the processing time guide tool and states the result 'is a guide only and not specific to your application'.

    Page we read

    Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

  • Application fee

    Page shows cost as 'From ... (concessions apply in limited circumstances)' and directs to the Visa Pricing Estimator. No amount is published on the page, so no fee is stored.

    Page we read

    Not yet verified against an official source

  • Minimum education

    Page states no minimum prior education level; admission depends on the course and provider. Previous stored value 'high_school' was unsourced and has been removed.

    Page we read

    Not yet verified against an official source

What changed when we last checked this record

Visa is open. Page states a stay of 'Up to 6 years and in line with your enrolment', work rights of 48 hours a fortnight while the course is in session, and a Genuine Student requirement.

Source: Department of Home Affairs · verified 2026-08-14

Other verified Australia routes

This route on comparison pages

All comparisons

Official sources

Disclaimer: Viovena is an informational planning tool for immigration pathways and eligibility estimates. It is NOT a registered immigration agency, legal advisor, or licensed consultant. Visa decisions belong solely to government authorities — we do not guarantee approvals. All match scores and timelines are estimates for planning purposes only. Always verify requirements, fees, and processing times on official government websites before applying.